Jen Farrington

by Pam Boyd

Board Member
VSWGA Administrator

I’m originally from Binghamton, NY and transferred to Burlington with IBM in 1995.  I have called Vermont my home since then.  I worked at IBM for a number of years, then I was the IT Director at Burton Snowboards, and now I run my own IT Project Management Business. 

I am married to Dave Farrington, and together we have five children between the two of us – Kira, Cameron, Jack, Paige and Cristian.  We live in Burlington, and also we have a condo in Sarasota, Florida that we frequent (part-time) in the winter.

I have been golfing on and off (much more now, less when my kids were younger) since I was 25.  Burlington Country Club is my home course where I have been a full golf member for six years. Prior to that I golfed at various courses and in various leagues, mostly around the Chittenden County area. I started playing State Days a few years ago and LOVE it.  It’s a great opportunity to explore the many beautiful courses around Vermont, spend the day with friends, and meet a wonderful group of golf ladies every round.  I played in my first VSWGA major last year, the Mid-Amateur, and have competed in various tournaments at BCC.  My focus this year was on my mental game.  I love the book “The Inner Game of Golf” by W. Timothy Gallwey.  If you ever hear me humming while I hit the ball, that’s why.

I served as the VSWGA Administrator for the past three seasons, 2018- September 2021.  The board has included me in most meetings and asked for my opinion on most matters and I feel like a valuable member of the organization, however, the admin position is not a board position and  I am glad to be on the board so that I can be a voting member.  I love this organization.  I want to continue to further it’s mission and continue to get women out golfing. I look forward to furthering my involvement by being on the board.

What experience do I bring? 

  1. Technology:  I’m great with computers and technology. I know golf genius inside and out.  I like helping people with computers.
  2. Process:  I am also very process oriented, i.e. I’m always asking “How can we make the process better for our members?”.
  3. People: I am an extrovert. I like meeting people.  When I go to events, I introduce myself to new people.  I golf with different people on purpose all of the time.  I ask people what they think of the organization and how they think things are going.   I really love meeting golf ladies.
  4. Mission:  I am dedicated to this organization and it’s mission.  I felt so lucky this year to be able to get out and golf with friends. It was such a bright spot and provided a “sense of normal” for so many of us.  I want to make sure we, and others, get to do this for a long time to come.