VSWGA Office - PO Box 4224, Burlington, VT 05406-4224 - info@vswga.org

Posted:  7/10/17 Updated 8/14

2017 USGA State Team Championship

 The 2017 USGA Women’s State Team Championship will be held on September 26-28 at the Club at Las Campanas in Santa Fe, NM.  This is the 12th and final time that this championship will be held.  Vermont has sent teams to several of the past championships including the inaugural event in 1995, but did not sent a team to the last tournament in 2015.  

The USGA Women’s State Team Championship is held every two years and is open to amateur golfers in the state represented and whom the VSWGA Committee has nominated. Teams shall consist of no more than three players; however, two players may represent a state. The USGA Women’s State Team Championship traditionally has a field of teams from some 40 states. Each state is invited to send it’s three best non-collegiate players. On each day of competition, only the best two scores of each state’s three players are counted. At the end of the competition, the state team with the lowest score will be declared the winner of the Judy Bell Trophy.

Championship History: The USGA Women’s State Team Championship, like the men’s version, grew out of the 1995 celebration of the USGA Centennial and was fashioned after the biennial World Amateur Team Championship. Forty-three states , including Vermont, sent women’s teams to compete at the Lake Buena Vista (Fla) Club. Vermont's first team was Mary Beth Birsky, Cindy Paquet, and Ann Waters. The winning team in the inaugural tournament was from Pennsylvania and included nationally acclaimed amateur golfer Carol Semple Thompson. The first championship proved to be such a popular competition that the decision was made to conduct the tournament every two years. A record 45 teams (not including Vermont) participated in 1997, when the championship was won by Alabama. Florida won the 1999 and 2003 championships while Minnesota won in 2001. Vermont participated in it’s second championship in 2003 represented by Libby Smith, Andrea Brown and Mari Harter. Libby finished in third place in individual play behind Emily Bastel and Carol Semple Thompson. In 2005, the team was Andrea Brown, Kristin Mahoney, and Elizabeth Walker. In 2007, Vermont was represented by Elizabeth Walker, Deirdre Morris, and Nancy Gorham-Lasante.  Holly Reynolds, Shelly Yusko, and Susie Bremner represented Vermont in 2011 in Savannah, GA, and Shelly Yusko and Nancy Gorham-Lasante represented Vermont is 2013 at Kettering, OH.

Vermont has a team for the final USGA State Team Championship! Representing the Green Mountain State will be Tracy Sloan of Brattleboro CC, Jena Wood of Stowe CC, and Miranda Milne of CC of Vermont. Barb Shiffler of Williston GC is the alternate.

The VSWGA received an extremely generous donation from a member of the host club to make this possible. Thank you!

Click here for more information.