VSWGA Office - PO Box 4224, Burlington, VT 05406-4224 - info@vswga.org

Posted:  11/18/14  Updated: 12/1/14

Vermont Sport Hall of Fame Dinner and Celebration

Mae Murray Jones is the first golfer to be inducted into the VSHOF.  She has an impressive list of golf credentials including six Vermont State Amateur championships, four New England championships, runner-up in the 1950 US Women’s Amateur Championship, and a 1952 member of the US Curtis Cup team. She passed away in 2005  in North Carolina at the age of 78. You can read more about Mae’s golf career on the Vermont Sports Hall of Fame website at www.vermontsportshall.com and in the following places on this website: induction announcement (9/14), obituary (4/05),  profile ( 9/99), and VSWGA History. Mae was a long-time member of Rutland Country Club before moving to North Carolina.

Kathy Sikora, Ellen Sheffer, Denise Barnard, and Cindy Paquet represented the VSWGA at the dinner to honor Mae.  Her brother was ill and unable to attend to accept the award on Mae’s behalf.  Cindy was asked to accept the award in his place.

Ted Hoehn was the first tennis player to be inducted into the VSHOF.  He is the husband of Nanny Hoehn who is an avid golfer and active state day player.  Ted and Nanny won the 2002 national 60-and-over platform tennis mixed doubles title.

The third annual Vermont Sports Hall of Fame Dinner and Celebration was held on Saturday, November 15 at the DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington in South Burlington presented by Casella Waste Management.  Mike McCune of WCAX Sports was the master of ceremonies.  Lt. Governor Phil Scott was the key-note speaker.

There were twelve inductees for 2014 including our own Mae Murray Jones.  The twelve inductees were:

Mae Murrary Jones in US Amateur at East Lake.  That’s Bobby Jones seated watching!

Kathy Sikora

Kathy Sikora, Denise Barnard, Cindy Paquet, Ellen Sheffer

Phil Scott, Cindy Paquet, Justin Martin