VSWGA Office - PO Box 4224, Burlington, VT 05406-4224 - info@vswga.org

Posted: 9/18/11

Andrea Brown Wins Mid-Am

Andrea Brown of Champlain won her third Mid-Amateur Championship at Neshobe Golf Club by a three stroke margin over defending champion Holly Reynolds of Copley.  Andrea had won the championship previously in 2002 at Crown Point and 2005 at the Country Club of Barre.

Andrea fired a 74 on Sunday to go with her opening round of 70 to secure the title.  Holly made a valiant attempt to catch Andrea with an even par round of 71 for a total of 147.  At one point Holly had pulled to within one stroke, but Andrea carded three consecutive birdies to secure the win.  Tiffany Maurycy of Williston also shot a 74 for a 154 to pull up into third place.  Reggie Parker of Ekwanok finished in fourth place with a total of 158.  Susie Bremner of Rocky Ridge finished in 5th place at 159 followed by the Rutland duo of Stacie Eaton and Krisin Mahoney at 160.  Regi Wahl of Williston finished in 8th place with a 162 total.  Nancy Devaux of West Bolton and Kathy Kemp of Barre rounded out the top ten with scores of 166.

Former VSWGA president Tracy Sloan of Brattleboro won the low net trophy with a net total of 140, just one stroke better than Trish Wade of Crown Point and Amy Gregory of Burlington.  Diane Izzo of the host Neshobe club, Mary Ann Athanas of Burlington and Mary Corey of Cedar Knoll were tied for fourth with totals of 143 followed by Pam Engel of Dorset and Denise Barnard at 144.  Karen Slowinski of Champlain was ninth with a total of 145 followed by Gretchen White of Rocky Ridge and Suzanne Neville of Equinox at 146.

Rutland Country Club won the Margaret Dick trophy by one stroke over Williston with a total of 465.

Many many thanks go to the people of Neshobe for all of the work they did to get the course playable for us after tropical storm Irene caused the Neshobe river to rip through the low lying holes on the front nine.  Looking at the extent of the damage, it is truly amazing that we were able to play the tournament there.

Click here for Results Page.