VSWGA Office - PO Box 4224, Burlington, VT 05406-4224 - info@vswga.org

Posted:  9/23/08 Updated: 9/27/08

Final State Day Awards

The Janet Lang Trophy for the player with the most points for 2008 was won by Jeanne Morrissey of Williston with 96 points.  This is the fifth time that Jeanne has won this award.  Josephine Herrera of Vermont National was second with 76 points and Sally Goss of St. Johnsbury was third with 72 points.

The Genevieve Babbitt Smith Memorial Trophy for the individual who lowered her handicap the most during the 2008 season went to Dee Rollins of Northfield.  Dee lowered her handicap from 29.5 to 21.2 (8.3 strokes) in E Division.  Other players receiving awards for lowering their handicaps were Kathy Gaudreau of Lake Morey in A Division (13.7 to 11.4), Tenley Malmquist of St. Johsnbury (20.2 to 12.3) in B Division, Sally Goss of St. Johnsbury  in C Division (22.3 to 18.2) and Cathleen Greenwood of Champlain  (28.0 to 22.2) in D Division.

The Mae Murray Jones Trophy for the Division 1 club with the most points went to Burlington Country Club with 72 points.  Burlington also won the trophy in 2007.  St. Johnsbury was second with 65 points.   West Bolton won the Division 2 award with 45 points over Lake Morey with 39 points.  The Division 3 award went to Northfield with 25 points.  Lake St. Catherine, Links at Lang Farm, and Montague were tied for  second with 17 points.

There were 3 holes-in-one scored in state days during the 2008 season.  Diane Hill of Brattleboro had an ace at Rutland on May 13th.  Lynda Jo Gregory of Bellows Falls scored one at St. Johnsbury on June 17th, and Dora Pealer of Williston had one at Lake Morey on August 26th.  

Click here for Results Page.